6 gallon Edge Opae tank

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

zeldar
Egg
Egg

6 gallon Edge Opae tank

Post by zeldar »

Hi all, I am new to keeping Opae Ula. I come from the planted freshwater world and was just getting worn down with the constant maintenance and ultimate algae doom that all my tanks eventually succumbed to. I had broken all of them down but still had the itch for some sort of aquarium. A friend mentioned Opaes and I eventually started researching them. They checked all my boxes! Little to no maintenance, few feedings, and most importantly algae is a good thing! I've kept freshwater shrimp like cherries and CRS but they are finicky about water condition (CRS for sure).

I pulled a Fluval Edge with the top de-rimmed out of the attic and ordered up a bag of argonite sand. The rocks in the tank were from my freshwater tank. Same goes with the light, just a retread. All in all the setup cost me under $20 (sand and salt). It's been setup for a couple weeks now and I added an algae ball from Mustafa. That thing moves all over the tank! I guess the photosynthesis bubbles cause it to float and roll every so often even without any water movement.

Here are a couple pictures of the setup. I'm getting the itch to add some Opaes but the water still has some ammonia in it. The salinity is dialed in at 1.01. I know these shrimp can adapt to wide water parameters but the CRS keeper in me keeps wanting perfect conditions before adding them.

mike.d
Shrimp
Shrimp

Re: 6 gallon Edge Opae tank

Post by mike.d »

I'd say 2 weeks in is probably enough. Do you have any algae growth or biofilm on the water surface?

I also came from the planted tank/freshwater shrimp world for the same reasons you cite. My opae have been in a converted 10 gallon since June. Still going strong. No feedings yet.