New shrimp owner, what do I need to know?

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

SkrimpScampi
Egg
Egg

New shrimp owner, what do I need to know?

Post by SkrimpScampi »

I recently purchased some opae'ula in a "self sustaining eco-system" from a holiday craft fair. The woman said they wouldn't need to be fed and their tank was so small I couldn't help but take them home. I've come to the sudden realization that I have very little knowledge of what kind of care these shrimp need. I have a shite load of questions. Do they like algae balls? How much space do they need (there are only four but I'm pretty sure that at least one is a male)? Is the spirulina from the brand "shrimp bubble" ok to feed them? Do they eat algae wafers/pads? I have heard of someone feeding them chiclid pellets, is that safe for them? Is artificial light ok for them or do they need like some kind of shrimp parasol? Does their water need to be changed and how often? How can I adjust them to new water without killing them from shock? How much should be brackish water and how much should be distilled? Is regular aquarium gravel safe for them? I feel like a new parent of quadruplets and I'm kind of nervous? Their tank is very small and I kinda want to move them but I don't have any water or sand or other aquarium supplies. Do the tanks need filters? Will they become stressed if their tank is too small? Answers and any other advice would be much appreciated. I also want to buy some other colors of the shrimp but I want to wait until I know more about these little creatures.
SuperProofer
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Re: New shrimp owner, what do I need to know?

Post by SuperProofer »

Hi Scampi,

I'm new to all this myself, but I'll answer what I can and others can correct me if I'm wrong. :D