new tank!-needs help

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

supashrimpo
Egg
Egg

new tank!-needs help

Post by supashrimpo »

hello! I am quite new to the supershrimp community, and I was hoping to get some help here :)

I got an ecosphere for a late Christmas gift, and just found out how bad it was for these little guys. So I currently have them in a small mason jar, about an 1/8 of a gallon. I have four supershrimp in there, I sure hope they survive! It currently has some sand, seashells, some small bits of lava rock, pesky hair algae, and a sea branch. I currently have supplies for a new tank, it's not much, but it is double the size of the one they have now.Will that be alright? I was wondering about whether to use tap water or purified water to rinse the tank, decor, etc. Will the shrimp be fine in such a small tank until the new one cycles? I wanted to use some of the decors from their old tank they are currently in, should I take it out now or place it once I can to transfer the shrimp? I know I can use eggshells for a calcium source, so how much is a good amount for a 1/4 gallon tank? ah sorry for the abundance of questions! I really want to give these shrimp a good place to live! any tips for keeping them :)? thank you!
Aennedry
Larva
Larva

Re: new tank!-needs help

Post by Aennedry »