Plants, Plankton for halocaridina rubra?

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

jeffclist
Egg
Egg

Plants, Plankton for halocaridina rubra?

Post by jeffclist »

I've been referring to this site for almost 2 years now on raising my favorite pets: hawaiian red shrimp! I bought about 200 of them back in 2008 and now have around 350 after tinkering around with the tank a bit. Once I get my new tank up and running, I'm sure they will reproduce much faster and I can then start introducing them to hobbyists in Massachusetts.

I have a few questions since I'm upgrading from 20g to 55g:
  • Plankton: Is it worth it to culture some phytoplankton?
  • Plants: Is it a good idea to diversify with some plants? Maybe java moss or mangroves?
Also - for those interested, my shrimp really started to breed when I gave them more dark areas and crevices and just left them alone for a while, I either got the idea from here or fukubonsai. Now it's really getting crowded and they've slowed down. They started breeding out of the blue and I would count maybe 30 larvae floating around, this was an average for a few months, now the average is about 5-20 larvae. Unfortunately I find that maybe 20+ berries are born and only about 12-15 make it through the following week. Any advice on this?
I've even given some shrimp out as gifts in small 5-3gal glass jars w/lids (desktop pets) with about 5-8 shrimp and w/rocks and plenty of algae. I told them to top off the water when low and open the lid every week to get fresh air. After a year I came to visit a friend and there is about 20 of them in there! I love these guys.

My tank: 20gal long, 60w flourescent, sponge filter, 1/2inch sand, ~30lbs rock (I drilled several 1/4in holes in most rocks to give them extra crevices and space)
Food: Spirulina: about 3-7 crushed, match-head size pellets per week
Temp: ~75F
Ph: ~7.8
Salinity: 1.015
Kh: at least 300ppm