Shrimp ID please

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

Jason L
Egg
Egg

Shrimp ID please

Post by Jason L »

I purchased these shrimp under the name "Blueberry Amano Shrimp" I had zero luck finding anything under that name. I have been keeping fish for 13 years, but this is my first time keeping invertebrates; so any tips or info would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Jay

Sorry about the picture quality
badflash
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by badflash »

I REALLY get tired of these made-up names just used to market shrimp.
These are not amano shrimp in any shape or form, they are just algae eating shrimp. They are not even in the same genus. I recently rescued some albino P. Alleni crayfish from the LFS that had tags "Rice Lobster". Go figure.

Check http://www.petshrimp.com/neocaridinaspblue.html and scroll down until you see the ones with blue color. These shrimp appear to be fed some sort of food that makes them blue. The offspring are not blue.

BTW- Welcome to the forum. These are very cool shrimp. I think you'll enjoy them.
Jason L
Egg
Egg

Post by Jason L »

I was afraid of that. The seem to be quite healthy though, and have done a great job of cleaning the algae in my 10 gallon betta tank. I can easily see though the "marketable" fish names as I am more aware of them, but with any invertebrates I am clueless. Being that this is the same shop that had SAE's labeled as "Asian Flying Foxes", I am not surprised.

Thanks for your help,

Jay
badflash
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by badflash »

You got lucky with the SAE's as they are a much better fish. They actually like algae, but they get too big.

I've never dealt with your shrimp, but my understanding is they are very much like red cherries and a very nice shrimp, blue or not.
Jason L
Egg
Egg

Post by Jason L »