Hi I’m new, with water filter questions

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

nick11380
Larva
Larva

Hi I’m new, with water filter questions

Post by nick11380 »

Hi, this is my first post. I’ve been keeping aquarium fish for around 30 years. Now I recently started keeping “water bugs”, I mean shrimp. I hope I didn’t offend, or get off on the wrong foot by calling our pet shrimp water bugs. But I couldn’t resist, I’ll tell you why. Up until a few weeks ago I never gave our pet shrimp or any shrimp a second thought. I am also not someone who likes to eat shrimp. So sometimes when I go out to eat with friends they like to order shrimp and talk about how yummy it is. So I like to tell them that their eating water bugs. Because they kind of are, but they just look at me like I’m nuts or something.

Anyway I first thought about getting some shrimp about a month ago and the whole process has been kind of stressful.

It started when I went to an aquarium society auction on Feb. 25. On a whim I bid on some aquarium plants. I’ve never kept plants so I didn’t know what I was bidding on and didn’t have a place to put them. But it was only plants so not a big deal. While setting up a tank for my plants I got the idea that maybe I should get some shrimp to put in it. About this time a member of a gold fish forum that I’m a member of mentioned that her cherry shrimp colony has been growing and offered some for sale. So I contacted her and bought 12 cherry shrimp.