Non Striped Indian Zebra

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

adimeatatime
Shrimp
Shrimp

Non Striped Indian Zebra

Post by adimeatatime »

I have been keeping these shrimp now for several months now. Since these were wild caught I decided to wait and see if I would have any shrimplets born and then survive. The good news is there are a number of shrimplets now in this tank. :-D They are growing and active. Here is a picture of one of the original adults I bought.
Non Striped Indian Zebra
Non Striped Indian Zebra
Unstriped06.JPG (62.81 KiB) Viewed 1466 times
Neonshrimp
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Re: Non Striped Indian Zebra

Post by Neonshrimp »

Great news and thanks for sharing:D We need to get more of these nice looking shrimp out into the hobby!
adimeatatime
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by adimeatatime »

Thanks!! I agree they are very pretty shrimp. Do you know if the babies will be a combination of striped/non striped? None of mine are big enough yet to be able to tell.
Neonshrimp wrote:Great news and thanks for sharing:D We need to get more of these nice looking shrimp out into the hobby!
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Post by Mustafa »

If there were no striped animals among the parents, then the offspring won't have stripes either. That's been my experience. Even the non-striped animals are absolutely great looking animals when the juveniles fully color out. It takes a very long time until they color out, though. Until then you can actually see some very faint stripes on the juveniles. On the Indian zebra shrimp juvies the stripes are very dark and pronounced (can't miss them). I'll put up a species description for these two closely related varieties with a bunch of pictures of adults and juveniles soon so the differences become visually apparent.
adimeatatime
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by adimeatatime »