Iwagumi Low Profile Opaeula Tank Setup

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

mcdaney
Shrimp
Shrimp

Iwagumi Low Profile Opaeula Tank Setup

Post by mcdaney »

Hello there! I'm new to this amazing hobby.
Well not exactly new to this. My girlfriend bought a non-enclosed ecosphere (more like a plastic bottle) as a gift late last year. There were 3 shrimps. I was hooked!
I read everywhere about them! I went through and read almost all the threads here! Great community! Posts date back 2005.. wow! I wonder what I was doing back then.

They're such remarkable creatures and are fun to watch! I can literally waste hours just looking at them. I think my gf regrets her purchase hahaha! :smt005
Fast forward now, I have a total of 40 shrimps. Bought from a local breeder here. I was so happy there are people here interested on these shrimps. I don't think I could order from Mustafa due shipping/import issues :( (I'm from a country in Asia hehe)

Anyway I went from the bottle to a 17x17cm [1st tank] crystal glass nano tank. Love this tank because it was made of clear glass which I think is very addictive. Colors just popped up more!

I then "upgraded" to a 60x25x20cm low profile tank (was given by gf's brother) [2nd tank]. This tank was a normal float glass tank. Honestly, after having crystal glass before this tank, I wasn't satisfied with it haha! Oops! Once you go crystal, you're hooked.

And so I then decided custom make a 60x20x17cm crystal glass tank [3rd tank]. Smaller than the previous one cos I wanted it to not take too much space.

Here's a photo of my current tank!
My Opae Ula setup tank
My Opae Ula setup tank
mytank.jpg (113.47 KiB) Viewed 4754 times
Like everybody else, I've been wanting them to breed. I used an overhang filter on my 2nd tank, but decided to drop it.