Red Cherry Shrimp - Comments and Pics

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

GunmetalBlue
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Red Cherry Shrimp - Comments and Pics

Post by GunmetalBlue »

Hi everyone, I'm awaiting the first hatching of shrimplets from my two pregnant Red Cherries; it's almost week 3 for one of them. I'm fairly new to shrimping, so this will be my first experience with this. A quick synopsis is I have one male and two females and the surprising thing is that all three are so different looking! Naturally the male is different, but the females too. One is much larger than the other, and has about 75% striated red coloring. The other female is smaller, but has almost 99% red (sometimes crimson) coverage, and is much shyer.

The first 3 pics, I took a couple weeks after getting them, so perhaps about 1.5 - 2 months old?

This is the larger female early in her pregnancy; she had a lot of eggs and I even noticed some excess on a plant. She's colored up more since this pic.

A comment I'd like to make is that I've seen a few pics "depicting" shrimps mating. The ones I've seen show the male alighted on the back of the female. However, that is not what I observed, so could Red Cherries be different?

What I observed was, while passing by the tank, I noticed a female lying on her side in the open and I thought, "Oh no, she's dying." For after all, shrimp seem to just keel over when dying. Upon closer inspection, I thought I saw a molted exoskeleton on her underside. But it was the male lying on his side too, and they were embraced, face to face. They stayed like that for about 7 more seconds (I have no idea how long the whole thing took, for I happened upon them in progress), then they sprang apart. Then within the next hour or two, I watched the process of eggs descending down into the pleopod area of the newly mated female.

Here's the female with the almost full red coverage.