Need help to identify this critter

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

MoltenLava
Egg
Egg

Need help to identify this critter

Post by MoltenLava »

Hello,

I am a newbie trying to start out a small Cherry shrimp tank. I have started with about 20 baby shrimps a month ago. They have been molting, and growing steadily, and I think I have several females in the population.

Today I even noticed one of the female started carrying eggs. :D The pregnant shrimp looks a little pale now, but it used to be bright red. Maybe she's exhausted after the long labor.

Also today, I noticed a strange critter in my tank. It's the size of adult Cherry shrimp. It might have come into the tank with the plants, but anyways I was very surprised that something this large went unnoticed until today. It's brown in color, long stick figure, and has three pointy tails. To me it looks pretty benign, but I don't want to take any chances if it could harm the shrimps especially with pregnant shrimps and pretty soon lots of baby shrimps. I'm wondering if someone could identify this critter. Can it coexist with the shrimps in my tank?

Beansly
Egg
Egg

Post by Beansly »

It looks to be some kind of insect larvae, maybe a mayfly. Hopefully not a dragonfly larvae, which you would definitely have to worry about, since they are predaceous.
Shrimp&Snails
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Post by Shrimp&Snails »

I would remove the larvae just in case it starts to eat your shrimplets.
badflash
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by badflash »

Looks like a damselfly larva. It will eat adult shrimp too. Kill it fast!
YuccaPatrol
Shrimp Master
Shrimp Master

Post by YuccaPatrol »

badflash wrote:Looks like a damselfly larva. It will eat adult shrimp too. Kill it fast!
I second that. It does appear to be a damselfly larva.
MoltenLava
Egg
Egg

Post by MoltenLava »