Cherax sp. Zebra spawned

This forum is read-only.

Moderator: Mustafa

pturley
Larva
Larva

Cherax sp. Zebra spawned

Post by pturley »

On Tuesday, 9/26, I found one of my female Cherax sp. zebra with hatched larvae attached. Whoo hooo! :-D
Last edited by pturley on Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:33 am, edited 2 times in total.
Newjohn
Shrimp Nut
Shrimp Nut

Post by Newjohn »

pturley
Congradulations

Sorry, I can be no help with this Crayfish.

I have not keep or bred this species.

Please keep us updated, and post some pictures, if possible
John
ToddnBecka
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Post by ToddnBecka »

I'm new to crayfish myself, the only concern I am aware of (aside from water quality) is the young being cannibalistic. A friend had a brood of "blue lobsters" (I'm not even sure of the genus/species) about a year ago. The babies were placed in a tank full of java moss, and most were eaten by their siblings.
zwergkrebszuechter
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Post by zwergkrebszuechter »

You should add plenty of oak leaves and leaves of other trees. Cherax like to eat that very much. And it also provides a lot of hiding places for the young ones. When all of them have left the mother, remove her from the tank.
Adding brick stones will also add a lot of hiding places for the young ones.
pturley
Larva
Larva

Post by pturley »

edit
Last edited by pturley on Thu Mar 29, 2007 6:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Post by Mustafa »

Just a question. Do your crayfish look more like this?:

or more like this?:

These are two different crayfish despite the similarity. The first one is sold as Cherax sp. "tiger" and *supposedly* stays smaller than the second one, which is sold as Cherax sp. "zebra." However, dealers mix up both species/subspecies(?) all the time so either one is sold as zebra or tiger.

It would be nice to see some pictures of your crays.
pturley
Larva
Larva

Post by pturley »

edit