Mysterious spotted snails

This forum is read-only.
marusempai
Shrimp
Shrimp

Mysterious spotted snails

Post by marusempai »

Awhile back, I found a clear blob with dots in it on one of my plants. Curious, I let it be, and the dots grew and then vanished one by one. I didn't see any new life for awhile, so I assumed whatever it was got eaten, but now I have quite a few very small (size of a large pin head) snails, that are yellow with black spots. :shock: They have standard looking "mystery snail" spiral shells, though a bit more elongate and pointed than the ones I usually see at the LFS. They also seem really fast for snails... I know very little about snails, so maybe I just don't know how to look, but I can't find what these are anywhere. Do they sound familiar to anybody? I will try to get pictures, but I am a TERRIBLE photographer...
Cableguy
Larva
Larva

Post by Cableguy »

pond snails
marusempai
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by marusempai »

Oh dear... that was obvious I guess. :oops: Disappointing though, now I'm going to have to pick them out. They're kind of cool looking, but I don't want them to eat my plants... :smt012
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Post by Mustafa »

If they are Physa or Physella sp. pond snails then they won't eat any plants. I have Physa sp. all over my tanks and they don't do any harm.
badflash
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by badflash »

My Cajun crays are having a feast on them. I was kind of suprised how big of snails they will actually eat. I now sea the pond snails numbers dropping and little shells all over. 3/16" seems to be the favorite size.
marusempai
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by marusempai »

Mustafa wrote:If they are Physa or Physella sp. pond snails then they won't eat any plants. I have Physa sp. all over my tanks and they don't do any harm.