Amano hatching and surviving in 100% fresh water - pics

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

fett
Egg
Egg

Amano hatching and surviving in 100% fresh water - pics

Post by fett »

Well..I was reading on the Amano page in the Varieties section and noticed that it said that Amano hatchlings absolutely will not survive in a fresh water tank, no matter what. I'm not a shrimp expert by any means, but I would like to share my experience with multiplying Amano, and smaller shrimp.

About a year ago I purchased about 5 Amano shrimp. When I first purchased them, they were at least 3cm long. I now have at least 8 shrimp in there, many are about 5cm and some are close to 2cm. It is completely freshwater, no brackish. I havent seen any larva, but I have a huge 1ft cubed areas worth of java fern, so its a good hiding spot. There is no doubt in my mind that the extremely small fish have to be the progeny of the originals. They are much much to small to be the same ones. I am going to link some pictures, because the validity of my argument will undoubtedly be disputed. I might add that the shrimp had eggs when I got them, but I think they also bred for the first couple months. I haven't seen eggs in while though.

Original shrimp:

Newer, smaller shrimp:

Size comparisons, larger older shrimp (size of originals at purchase) and new smaller shrimp:
(Small)
(Large)
(2 Large, 1 Small)
(Large and Small)

I'm not trying to step on anyones toes, I just want to confirm this can happen. Aquarium keeping is largely a hobby of discovery, and to deny new knowledge is to deny the essence of fish keeping.
Neonshrimp
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by Neonshrimp »

Hi fett and welcome :)
I'm not trying to step on anyones toes, I just want to confirm this can happen. Aquarium keeping is largely a hobby of discovery, and to deny new knowledge is to deny the essence of fish keeping.