Macro Pictures w/Canon ESO...Macro function (poss 56k?)

This forum is read-only.
Suzie Q
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Macro Pictures w/Canon ESO...Macro function (poss 56k?)

Post by Suzie Q »

I have been reading all of the threads on here...I Love this forum!!!!!

Anyway, I have a Canon ESO Rebel XT...10 megipixel? I think...I really know my camera...just a brain fart right now, and the camera is at home...it came with a 18?/55 lens and a 55/200(300?)...can post more details later...I have taken some pretty good macro shots with it, but really tiny (betta fry or new hatched Ghost Shrimp)...no matter what I do, I can not get it to focus...I have even tried manual focus, and it just won't focus that tiny! I would love to have a macro lens, but right now, I am saving for a 150g FW tank. Any suggestions? Do I need to get further away from the tank? I am a pretty good photographer, and usually get drafted to take the pictures at birthdays, family gatherings and I have done about 6 weddings for friends...it is just my little obsessions that I am having trouble with. HELP PLEASE!

Here are just a few Macro pictures...

Worm thing is now gone, and she is doing fine...

This is before the "ribbon" showed up...same shrimp

This is a newly hatched Ghost Shrimp...believe it or not...

This is another one...

Thanks,
Lori
wijnands
Larva
Larva

Post by wijnands »

Not bad, especially for a Canon kit lens.

Manual focussing with a modern DSLR is tricky.

A lowbudget solution to getting closer would be a closeup filter. A raynox dcr250 would only set you back about $40. Would allow you to get closer. Focussing will remain a challenge with them though.
Suzie Q
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Post by Suzie Q »

wijnands wrote:Not bad, especially for a Canon kit lens.

Manual focussing with a modern DSLR is tricky.