Shrimp ID Help

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

southerndesert
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Shrimp ID Help

Post by southerndesert »

A couple months back I purchased what look to be the same shrimp that Mustafa describes as Dark Green Shrimp (Caridina sp.) in the varieties page of this site. You may remember the photos I posted asking about them. Along with the adults I also received some juvenile shrimp and they have now grown to young adults. Now some of these shrimp do not appear to be the same species, but I am still quite new to shrimp keeping and IDing shrimp is out of my league so to speak. Here are some photos showing some of the shrimp in question and I am aware that DGS display some different colors, but these shrimp seem much different. Thanks in advance for any input!

I have several of them appearing to be both male and female and you can see a male with a similar wide stripe on it's back in the bottom photo (other males in photos are DGS). If different species I do not want them to mix and I am just not sure.

Bill
wklotz
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Re: Shrimp ID Help

Post by wklotz »

Hi Bill!

Your shrimp probably bekong to a species closely related to the "Dark green shrimp" also occuring in East India:

reddish brown colour morph

drark brown colour morph

Morphological theese are close to C. babaulti sensu Bouvier, the egg sizi is large and the larval development of totall abbreviated type.

Cheers
Werner
southerndesert
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Post by southerndesert »

Thank you Werner for the information on these shrimp!

I will need to move them then to their own tank then. Are others currently keeping these in the hobby that you are aware of? I am guessing water parameters are close to the same as well.

Cheers, Bill
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Post by Mustafa »

Look at my reply here from July 31st:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3064&start=0&st=0&s ... bra+indian