Halocaridina rubra

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

KenCotigirl
Senior Shrimp Master
Senior Shrimp Master

Halocaridina rubra

Post by KenCotigirl »

My question is, am I ready to keep Halocaridina rubra? I have spent hours researching on-line about this shrimp and have read the threads in the forum.

Some backup info on me may be helpful. I have been keeping shrimp for about 5 months. I have both RCS and Tigers. To be honest to both the forum and myself, my success with my current shrimp has been hit or miss. I seem to go several weeks with no mishaps, females with saddle, berried females and baby shrimp then bamm! Dead shrimp here dead shrimp there. Why? I do not know. (Rhetorical questions) Did I forget to dechlorinate the water? Was the dead snail that I removed polluting the water with bacteria? My son caught the dog drinking out of the tank. Can that be good? Do I have too many plants in my tank?

What have I learned in the last 5 months? Shrimp are way harder to keep than fish. Exponentially harder. I kept fish for years and never had problems maintaining them. My koi outside are idiot proof compared to shrimp. Make a mistake with fish usually nothing happens. Make a mistake with shrimp you have dead shrimp. Patience is required. Go slow. If you want to make changes do it over time and only change one thing at a time. Be prepared for losses. Do not chase water parameters. If your water parameters are within the allowable limits maintaining them is more important. (More rhetorical questions) When people say RCS are hardy what are they comparing them to? Not Aquarium fish. Don't believe the hype when people say I started with 10 shrimp now I have a huge surplus. At least do not let it depress you. Are people honest about their failures?