My new Opae Ula tank

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

AndyH
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

My new Opae Ula tank

Post by AndyH »

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Supershrimp. In fact, I'm new to aquariums in general. None of my friends or family have aquariums.

My only experience so far: About two months ago, I bought some Sea-Monkeys from Walmart. I did some research but apparently not enough of it. Lol. I set up a 1/3gallon tank for them with some gravel and driftwood. Come to find out, driftwood was not a good idea at all. Neither was the gravel - they kept getting stuck and dying. I also overfed them and killed about half of the population. After more research, I've swapped the gravel for some much smaller substrate, swapped the driftwood for a single lava rock, and cut way down on the feeding. Now they're swimming around very happily! However, I wanted to get something a little less childish but still didn't require too much daily maintenance.

I discovered Opae Ula when I was browsing aquarium stuff on the internet. I thought they looked pretty cool, so I started reading all about them. Found this site, then found the forums, researched a bunch, and now I'm collecting everything to start my own Supershrimp tank. I hope to apply what I've learned with the Sea-Monkeys and what I've read on the internet and on these forums so that I can have a thriving tank with Supershrimp that eventually reproduce.

I've purchased pretty much everything except for the live organisms (Chaeto, Snails, and Supershrimp) at this point. I've got a 3 gallon tank, a little light that came with it, a small airstone for the corner with very light air flow (which I won't even run all the time), distilled water, natural sea salt mix for aquariums, some substrate, some lava rocks, and some small calcium carbonate rocks. I also have some Formula 1 pellets for food.