Compatibility

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

missdebz84
Egg
Egg

Compatibility

Post by missdebz84 »

Hi, I'm new to this so please help me out. I purchased a sand sifting starfish 3 snails a mushroom and another plant live thi.g that I forgot its name last friday, put them all in a 2.5 gallon tank. That night however, the starfish was standing on top of where the mushroom was put and ate it because it was gone the next morning. I contacted the petstore about it he zaid that things like this is rare but can happen if he's stressed from being in a different environment than what its used to. So yesterday i purchased a 10 gallon tank more salt warter crushed coral for the bottom of the tank and a heater. This morning i noticed that tje starfish hasn't moved since we put him in there. My question to you is, will the starfish and snails be compatible with the Supershrimp I purchased or will i have to ger rid of the starfish because I think it'll eat the shrimps. I'd rather give up on the starfish than the shrimps. The whole purpose of having a saltwater tank is becauze of the shrimps. I just wanted playmates for them.

Thanks in advance.
Rob in Puyallup
Shrimp
Shrimp
Location: Puyallup, Washington. Thirty miles south of Seattle.

Re: Compatibility

Post by Rob in Puyallup »

Hi Deb,

I don't know what you mean by "mushroom", was/is it an invert?

Starfish require a fully marine environment as far as I'm aware. Are you keeping the opae ula in high saline? Either way, I would think the shrimp would be quick enough to get out of the way of a starfish.

Some of the tiny hermit crabs available at pet stores are brackish safe, (If slowly acclimated). I have some in both of my tanks. They're very good at cleaning the live rock and are opae ula safe.

Rob
shrimpy4
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Post by shrimpy4 »

Rob, how'd you go about acclimating the hermit crabs?
Mustafa
Founder
Founder