Are my shrimp dying, molting or birthing???

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

LauraHirsh
Egg
Egg

Are my shrimp dying, molting or birthing???

Post by LauraHirsh »

Hello all! Please help. I am new to inverts. I have had my tank for about 6 weeks. I used already conditioned bio balls to help get my tank cycled. My husband had built and maintained aquariums professionally for over 15 years. However, he is not at all familiar with my little shrimps. This started yesterday....I was watching a shrimp walk around. Then she laid on her side. She was flicking her tail and kicking her legs. I took my net and flipped her up gently. She swam away and proceeded to do the same thing. I watched her for about 45 mins thinking she was birthing perhaps. Then she just stopped. I thought, did she just die???? I got my net at scooped her up. I left her netted but in the aquarium. She twitched her tail a few more times then didn't move again. Several hours later I removed her from the tank. Today, another shrimp is starting to lay on her side. SAME THING AS YESTERDAY? Am I witnessing my slaughter here? This only seems to be happening to my pregnant females. All other shrimp are swimming and eating and being adorable. WTH is going on? Please help!!!! Just and FYI, I have 5 tiny feather rainbows in with my shrimp and 3 real plants. Please let me know what levels my water should be at just so I can double check!
thanks again for your quick help!!! :?:
AndyH
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Re: Are my shrimp dying, molting or birthing???

Post by AndyH »

I'm not sure if it matters or not, but what kind of shrimp do you have?