Grey sand shrimp, master of camouflage

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

alexvpaq
Egg
Egg

Grey sand shrimp, master of camouflage

Post by alexvpaq »

Thought I'd share these pictures I took a year ago, I live just by the St-Lawrence river in Quebec. As a child we used to pick up all the time what we called ''Écrevisses'' (or crayfish in english) but truth is we were wrong all this time, they actually were gammarus* (*though that's not essentially confirmed, I'm not a scientist with expertise in this subject but they look very similar), most of the time they were dark and just looking for a hiding spot during the low tides.

http://www.rsba.ca/recherche_espece/fic ... =45&lan=en

However last year, for the first time in my life (I'm 24 at the moment btw),I had never seen a real shrimp there! But I sort of understand now. The shrimps hiding there are amazingly well adapted and very cool to look at, I found them while looking at those gammarus, These shrimps were very, very interesting for the short time I was as the beach.

http://www.rsba.ca/recherche_espece/fic ... =80&lan=en this shrimp seems to carry many different names but the scientific name for them is : Crangon septemspinosa

Link to my online folder : https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... sp=sharing

I'll just do a quick note here for the pictures in case some aren't obvious or clear enough, you will quickly find out why. Found it easier to just tell where on a round clock where they are. You can also zoom if you want.

Picture #2 : on the right side of the first shrimp from the left you can see a baby shrimp
Picture #4 : another baby on the top right
picture #5 : There ya go, in their natural habitat. No wonder I had never seen them before. Look at the small white shell in the center, go halfway at 3 O,clock there is one very well camouflaged shrimp.