need help identifying gifted shrimps

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

giadda
Egg
Egg

need help identifying gifted shrimps

Post by giadda »

Hi all!

It's my first time here, so do be kind :)

I got my first nano tank (30-liter planted, low-tech). Since I purchased a lot of aquaplants, the hobbyist whom I purchased it from gifted me with 6 free shrimps. He told me they were fire red or sakura shrimps, but I'm not so sure since they look different from the pics I've Googled.

Kindly help me out in identifying the shrimps, since I want to add four more so they'd make a hefty colony soon :D I'd love to avoid cross breeding so I'm looking for the correct specie.

Oh, and the one on the left is male and the one on the right is female, right? Well, I heard the females were supposedly bigger. (from Googling)

Thanks! Any help appreciated!
KenCotigirl
Senior Shrimp Master
Senior Shrimp Master

Re: need help identifying gifted shrimps

Post by KenCotigirl »

They look like red cherry shrimp. The names you provided are the same species but are based upon the degree and deepness of red. I would say the one on the left is a male based upon its color. Males tend to be less red. Females have a saddle, developing eggs. Cannot tell from picture. Also females are not just larger but have a different body type. Stouter looking. Sorry I am at a loss for words. The right one looks like a female.

Ken
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Post by Mustafa »

The one on the right is clearly a female, and the one on the left appears to be an immature female. They get misidentified as males a lot, especially when they are smaller, as they do resemble males. They both seem to be in terrible shape, though. Unfortunately, they'll probably die soon. Are they picking at any surfaces or just sitting there doing nothing? Also, is that a new tank? I would wait to see how these shrimp do before adding more.
giadda
Egg
Egg