Sick crayfish

This forum is read-only.

Moderator: Mustafa

jsnitchler
Egg
Egg

Sick crayfish

Post by jsnitchler »

I got a crayfish 2 days ago, now she is laying on her back not moving. Occasionally she will sway her legs. I have no idea what's wrong, I had my water tested before I put her in the tank and the guys at the pet store said it was the right balance, I have a heater set to 80 degrees F, and I have a filter. She was totally fine, crawling around like crazy, really active, even attacked the fish I got her with, a gourami. I already checked he wasn't poisonous. It's been about 8 hours since she's seriously moved. Immediately after she grabbed the fish, she slowed down and rolled on her side. She violently shook a couple separate instances. Now I'm worried she might be dying. She crawled from one side of the tank to the other while I was sleeping, but is now on her back not moving at all except swaying her legs. She's not even reacting when the fish is near her. I changed out about a third of the water and added tap water conditioner which seemed to help. She was moving her legs a ton more right after I added the new water. Please help!!!! I JUST got her!!!!
I have been researching this all night. The closest thing I have found that sounds like this is that she is molting or dying. I'm not sure though because I haven't found anything about shaking behavior.

UPDATE
She's moving around a lot more and is upright now, but her movements are awkward and her tail is VERY curled up. She seems to be off-balance; will walk leaning one way or the other occasionally tipping over.

Lying on her back again with legs waving.
pcboi
Egg
Egg

Re: Sick crayfish

Post by pcboi »

In my experience it's dying or molting or both. so many variables like water quality, injury from fights, terminal molt (genetic)
usually if a moult lasts more than an hour its going to die regardless, once it's already broken it's head shell and nothing else, its a gonner