Iis my tank ready for Supershrimp? no sign of algae

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

kimuh72
Egg
Egg

Iis my tank ready for Supershrimp? no sign of algae

Post by kimuh72 »

Hey guys.. how are you?
it's been 4th weeks I set up my 6 gallon tank but I do not see any signs of algae.
thanks to Mustafa, I followed up his steps to set up my tank and just waiting to see algae to add Supershrimps.

LED light, 12 hours on, 12 hours off (6am on, 6pm off)
no direct sunlight
salinity 6.010
added Moss ball 2nd week
I added Flourish Excel 3rd week
I keep my filter running 24hr

I am attaching pictures.

please help me.
Attachments
IMG_1561.jpg
IMG_1560.jpg
IMG_1559.jpg
Sasquatch
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Re: Iis my tank ready for Supershrim? no sign of algae

Post by Sasquatch »

I’m no expert, but around these parts a filter is not recommended.

Regarding the tank being ready, just wait for visible algae. Having said that, I moved 10 shrimp from an ecosphere into a tank that hadn’t been cycled at all. They survived.
Varanus
Senior Shrimp Master
Senior Shrimp Master

Post by Varanus »

Plus once you remove the filter, the first algae you may see may be as a greenish surface film. That was in fact pretty much the only visible algae my tank got before I added shrimp, and years down the line they are still doing great.

I do worry about the plants you have in there, including the moss balls. Its been debated plenty on here about whether they are good for supershrimp or not, but I'd be careful regardless. If they start degrading and polluting the water you may not notice until its too late to save the shrimp.
Erlina _rusli
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Post by Erlina _rusli »

I see a driftwood there? A wood is a no no
mike.d
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by mike.d »

I'd go for it. 4 weeks is more than enough time. (I was a little reckless when setting up my tank but everyone survived.)