Absolute beginner - Some concerns

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

roygbiv
Larva
Larva

Absolute beginner - Some concerns

Post by roygbiv »

Hi everyone.

I had been eyeing those EcoSphere products for years, and finally, last week I impulsively made the purchase.

Then I started reading about them and came across the information that these shrimp are basically being starved (and otherwise stressed) long-term in these sealed containers. I was directed to this site and immediately decided that I would prepare a real home for the opae ula I'd be receiving.

I've ordered a small glass container (6" diameter, 10" tall cylinder, which I'll fill to just over 8" to make a gallon) to serve as the aquarium. Just moments ago I ordered substrate, calcium carbonate rocks, salt, and macroalgae from this site (I'll keep checking back for black lava rocks and order when in stock).

Based on the instructions, it seems that it's a simple matter of putting in the substrate, placing the calcium carbonate (and lava rocks when I can get them), then dissolving the salt into RO or distilled water and adding it to the tank.

My intention is to add the macroalgae the same day I start up the aquarium, then wait a week or so and order snails to add.

This is where I start to have questions. I keep reading about "cycling" the tank. I'm totally new to aquariums, and whenever I look up information about cycling the tank, it seems to be about allowing a sufficient population of Nitrosomonas and Nitrobacter bacteria to grow in the tank, to handle the eventual build-up of toxic ammonia and nitrites.