New Tank Setup, Please Review

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

ProLogic
Egg
Egg

New Tank Setup, Please Review

Post by ProLogic »

Hi All, Happy New Year!
I think I should have all my parts together for my first shrimp nano tank on Tuesday, when my little shrimp cube arrives. Since I am new to this, I was wondering if a more experienced user could do a “once-over” to see if I planned everything correctly to be successful in creating a shrimp tank with my son? I would hate to explain to him that we did something wrong and our shrimp died as a consequence.

Supplies:
Dennerle 2.5 gallon / 10 liter shrimp cube
7W full spectrum LED light
Refractometer
Instant Ocean Sea Salt (to be mixed at 1.010 salinity)
CaribSea Aquatics Eco-Complete African Cichlid Zack Sand
Lava rocks
Small ceramic breeding / hiding tubes
Airline tubing
Valve for airline tubing

When tank gets here on Tuesday:
1) Clean lava rocks and substrate with RO or distilled water. Boil lava rocks no longer than 20 mins. fill about 1/2” substrate in tank and aquascape with rocks. Fill with RO or distilled water.
2) Order snails, macroalgae and calcium rocks from petshrimp.com. When they arrive, place all in tank.
3) Wait 3 – 6 weeks for cycle and keep testing until nitrates = 0
4) When nitrates = 0 and algae visible, order shrimp from petshrimp.com (was planning on 30 for 2.5 gallon / 10 liter Dennerle shrimp cube … too many?)
5) When shrimp arrive, use airline tubing and drip-acclimate shrimp with water from tank for about 30 mins
6) Place shrimp in tank and be happy
7) Don’t feed for a month, then about once a month

Does this sound like good path forward or do you have some criticisms or suggestions?

Most pressing questions:
a) 30 shrimp sounds like a huge number but the internet seems to be ok with it. Should I maybe go with 20?