Is temperature a concern when measuring Salinity?

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

dtoh21
Egg
Egg

Is temperature a concern when measuring Salinity?

Post by dtoh21 »

Hi,

I am new to keeping Opae Ulu shrimp. So fortunate to stumble into this amazing community.

I also did something horribly wrong setting up my new tank by using aquarium salt instead of marine/reef salt. Thank to the forum moderater who explained in the step by step setup.

I have a refractor to read water salinity. I understand that the shrimp strive between 7-23 ppt (~1.005-1.016 sg) from the article posted by the moderator. And I understand temperature does affect the salinity reading. Question, my room temperature is around 30 to 32 degrees Celsius, do I need to read the salinity of the water in an air-conditioned room of around 20 degree Celsius or can I just read off in my room temperature to give me 7 to 23ppt?

Thank you in advance.
sliphorn
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Re: Is temperature a concern when measuring Salinity?

Post by sliphorn »

dtoh21 wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:14 am Hi,

I am new to keeping Opae Ulu shrimp. So fortunate to stumble into this amazing community.

I also did something horribly wrong setting up my new tank by using aquarium salt instead of marine/reef salt. Thank to the forum moderater who explained in the step by step setup.

I have a refractor to read water salinity. I understand that the shrimp strive between 7-23 ppt (~1.005-1.016 sg) from the article posted by the moderator. And I understand temperature does affect the salinity reading. Question, my room temperature is around 30 to 32 degrees Celsius, do I need to read the salinity of the water in an air-conditioned room of around 20 degree Celsius or can I just read off in my room temperature to give me 7 to 23ppt?

Thank you in advance.