Larvae survival?

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

Shiawase
Egg
Egg

Larvae survival?

Post by Shiawase »

Hi everyone! I'm a proud baby shrimp mama to two little larvae. They hatched yesterday and the one little guy is bobbing around happily.
The second larvae (although alive) has been lying on the substrate since last night. She moves kinda like in a popping motion from time to time but she's yet to float/bob around.

I'm new to handling larvae so I was wondering if I may please get your advice.

Should I syphon out the struggling larvae and separate her so that she doesn't get trampled on or am I adding undue trauma to one that is inevitably going to die?

Thank you so much I appreciate it!
Little guy bobbing around
Little guy bobbing around
Attachments
IMG_0069.JPG
Varanus
Senior Shrimp Master
Senior Shrimp Master

Re: Larvae survival?

Post by Varanus »

I had a number who struggled when they were getting near metamorphosis (laying on the bottom, thrashing around), but that doesn't sound like what happened here given they only recently hatched.

But still, I would leave it alone and see what happens. It may well recover. All the ones that had problems in my tank vanished, and judging by the number of babies I've counted since then it seems likely most of them ended up surviving. Those that didn't left no trace and were presumably eaten after dying, without any adverse effect on the water quality.

You shouldn't need to worry about her/him being trampled on. My shrimp mostly ignored the larva that seemed to have trouble floating, and when they did step on them it didn't seem to do any damage.

I'd also test the water to make sure you don't have detectable amounts of ammonia. If the water is fine then it may be that there is just something wrong with this particular larva.