My First Tank

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

Purpleshrimp
Egg
Egg

My First Tank

Post by Purpleshrimp »

Hi Everyone! I'm just starting out with my shrimp tank and I have a few questions and am hoping to get some advice about tank setup.

I bought a 3 gallon tank, white aragonite sand, reef salt (instant ocean in the orange box), some shells, and a big rock. My plan was to set up the tank today and wait for it to cycle, however now that I've got everything home, I'm not sure that this is the best course of action.

I asked the people at the fish store if the rock was ok for a brackish shrimp tank and they said yes, it is pre-cured. The rock is made of calcium carbonite if that helps anyone. It looks to me like it might have too much organic matter on it and maybe I need to scrub it and soak it first anyway? See the picture below. Any advice would be appreciated.
Attachments
Tank Rock.JPG
Ace
Shrimp
Shrimp

Re: My First Tank

Post by Ace »

If that is live rock, when you lower the salenity much of the life it has will die. That would cause some water guality issues. Live rock may not be suitable for Opae Ula.

You may also want to avoid using red colors in their habitat since they are red and would not show so nicely against it.

Aragonite is an excellent choice. I would go ahead and fill your container with the aragonite sand and half strength sea water and cook it in direct sunlight if you have some. I used numerous reflector lamps 24 hours a day while mine was cycling and I used Fluval Cycle at day 20 when I saw algae growth.

If you have any other questions, please ask. Help is here. :)
Last edited by Ace on Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Ace
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by Ace »

Auto-correct! :smt013

*That would cause some water quality issues.*
Purpleshrimp
Egg
Egg

Post by Purpleshrimp »