Define soft acidic water

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

milalic
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Define soft acidic water

Post by milalic »

Hi there. I have seen this topic inside some of the posts around here but have not seen it as a separate subject.

How would you define soft acidic water? I have read so much conflicting information on this?. Is it water with a low hardness?water with a low ph? Or water with both low ph and low hardness? is water with 200ppm of hardness considered hard?

Thanks,
Pedro
Last edited by milalic on Thu Apr 06, 2006 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
badflash
Master Shrimp Nut
Master Shrimp Nut

Post by badflash »

Acidic means a pH of less that 7.0. Soft is a little fuzzier, but is a function of total disolved solids(TDS). No disolved solids is as soft as it gets. The more disolved solids, the harder the water. How you measure this is something I'm still learning. If you have high TDS it is hard to maintain an acidic pH.
milalic
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Post by milalic »

What total hardness would be consider soft?
frugalfish
Shrimp
Shrimp

Post by frugalfish »

Roughly in ppm...

1. 0-75 soft

2. 75-150 moderate

3. 150-300 hard

4. 300+ very hard

for degrees divide by 17.9
milalic
Shrimpoholic
Shrimpoholic

Post by milalic »

anyone else?
fishgeek
Tiny Shrimp
Tiny Shrimp

Post by fishgeek »

table from william wildgoose book

mg/l CaCO3 dH
soft 0-50 3
moderately soft 50-100 3-6
slightly hard 100-200 6-12
moderately hard 200-300 12-18
hard 300-450 18-25
very hard >450 >25

andrew
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Re: Define soft acidic water

Post by Mustafa »

milalic wrote:Hi there. I have seen this topic inside some of the posts around here but have not seen it as a separate subject.