Shrimp dragging eggs

This is an archived forum with lots of information. However, new posts are not allowed at this point.

Moderator: Mustafa

knxtninverts
Egg
Egg

Shrimp dragging eggs

Post by knxtninverts »

I've got an issue that I need input on.

First off, I'm quite new to shrimp keeping, much less breeding them. I am really just beginning to have a few females berry up.

I have a small colony of "blue cherries" and some "blue bees" that I got a few weeks ago. I converted a fish aquarium that had been running for several months and the shrimp have been thriving and growing. A few days ago I noticed one of the blue cherries had berried, but her eggs were hanging down, dragging along when she moved about. I caught her in a net and she released the eggs. I noticed the same thing tonight -- was going to take her out as well but she released the eggs and took off. I also saw another shrimp "digging" around in an abandoned batch of eggs. All eggs are now in a little hatchery and I'm hoping they will hatch. There are 3 blue bee females in this aquarium, all berried normally.

My first attempt at artificially hatching eggs was from a (berried) female that I found dead (mentioned in another post). I'm happy to report that the majority hatched and I know at least a few of them are still alive. A couple of other attempts failed.

Anyway, I'm thinking it may be a water issue based on searching through the forum. I haven't tested the nitrate, but I know it tested around 10 - 20 ppm before I converted it to a shrimp tank, but I did a 50% water change before adding the shrimp. I just tested the PH, and was surprised to find out it looks to be around 7.8. I've added a bit of peat pellets to the filter to bring down the PH.

Any advise/comments on why this is happening and how to correct it would be appreciated.
Mustafa
Founder
Founder

Re: Shrimp dragging eggs

Post by Mustafa »