Beginner-Can I put beach glass in my tank?

A forum for discussing everything about the Supershrimp (Halocaridina rubra, Opae ula).

Moderator: Mustafa

BrooklynCritter
Egg
Egg

Beginner-Can I put beach glass in my tank?

Post by BrooklynCritter »

Hi! I'm new to keeping supershrimp, and after one failed attempt (lessons learned, for sure), I have about 30 shrimp in a one gallon jar with some black sand, marimo balls, a piece of cholla wood, and sea fan. I'm really delighted with how these guys look, and I feel like it might be a little crowded in the set-up I have now, so I have another jar getting ready to transfer some shrimp to once it cycles a bit.

My question is about putting things in the tank as decoration. I have a lot of great shells and sea glass that I've collected from a beach near me, but, being that I'm in the Northeast, I am concerned that they may harbor chemicals or bacteria that would be harmful to the shrimp or the ecosystem. If I boiled pieces of shell or glass harvested from the wild, would that be a reasonable way to make them safe for my shrimp? Or is there another way I could treat them?

Thanks for your advice!
JennyPenny
Shrimp
Shrimp

Re: Beginner-Can I put beach glass in my tank?

Post by JennyPenny »

Glass is pretty inert (glass jars can even be sterilized for canning by boiling for 20 minutes). There should be no problem adding it to your tank after rinsing and boiling.